Child Support

The Oregon legislature requires that divorced and unmarried parents to financially support their children. A parent’s obligation to pay child support generally ends when a child turns 18 years old, or reaches age 21 if the child is attending school or vocational training.

Child support issues can come up in divorce cases, custody cases, paternity cases, and modifications of preexisting support orders. The Oregon Division of Child Support has created a calculator for child support. The number produced by the formula is presumed to be correct, however there are many “rebuttal” factors that may affect the final support amount. (click here for calculator)

Depending on your unique situation, we will use the factors when they are appropriate and in your best interest. We will work with you to make sure that all of the factors that can result in the best child support award for you and your children are properly addressed. Many times this includes finding the income that many people attempt to hide.

Our firm has over 90 years of combined experience in Family Law. Please contact Family Law Attorney Steve Palmer to discuss your case.

Family Law Attorney Steve Palmer

Get In Touch

515 East First Street
Newberg, OR 97132

Phone: (503) 538-3138
Fax: (503) 538-9812

Get Directions To Our Office

Office Hours

Monday - Friday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.